The Epsilon Pi Chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health at Michigan State University is pleased to announce the College of Human Medicine’s inaugural spring 2024 inductees. Each year, Delta Omega elects new students, faculty, alumni, and honorary members based on high academic standards and outstanding performance in scholarship, teaching, research, and community service. Election of membership in Delta Omega is intended to recognize merit and encourage further excellence in and devotion to public health work.

Founded in 1924, Delta Omega is a national honor society existing to encourage research and scholarship among graduate students of public health and to recognize attainment and achievement in the field of public health. With over 130 active chapters, Delta Omega and its members are dedicated to ensuring the quality of the field of public health and to the protection and advancement of the health of all people.

“Becoming part of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health enables us to recognize our exemplary Master of Public Health students,” said Sharia Phillips, D. Ed, Culminating Experience Coordinator. “This induction ceremony is extra special as we inducted the first cohort into our chapter, Epsilon Pi. We want to congratulate the inductees and look forward to seeing where the future takes them.”

Dean Aron Sousa welcomed the inaugural inductees on February 8, 2024. Inductees are:

  • Donovan Dennis
  • Kristi Loadholdt
  • Liz McCormick
  • Kendra Shannon
  • Hannah Sloss
  • Brenden Smith

“Our interest in initiating a chapter comes at an exciting time in the continued progression of our MSU’s Master of Public Health program. We recently became CEPH accredited and, as we achieved full departmental status, we became the first philanthropically named department within MSU,” said Wayne R. McCullough, PhD, MA, Interim Chair of the Charles Stewart Mott Department of Public Health and Director of the Master Public Health Program. “Students remain at the core of what drives us, and as such, we believe membership aligns with that focus. Our students are motivated to meet high academic standards in the Delta Omega honor society and seek to make significant contributions to the public health field.”

Eleven faculty-nominated eligible students were invited to apply for membership to Epsilon Pi. Eligible students had to have completed at least one year and 21 credits in the program. Nominations were based on academic excellence and commitment to public health service as evidenced by scholarly, community, and/or employment activities, and qualities that align with the department’s values. Each of the six inductees demonstrated innovation and academic excellence, health equity and diversity, community partnership, leadership development, and global impact.  

“Donovan, Kristi, Liz, Kendra, Hannah, and Brenden embody what it means to be a Spartan student. They are pursuing possibilities for a healthier future and making a difference in their communities. They are already actively engaged in contributing to the public health field,” said John Clements, PhD, Associate Professor. “No matter where their careers take them from human medicine to nursing, working in local public health or at the state and federal levels, or making a global impact, I am confident they will make great contributions throughout their careers.”

The Master of Public Health program is working on criteria and processes to induct alumni and faculty as honorary members.


February 8, 2024